How Einstein deals with negativity – #LifeBytes 1

haters 1-1.jpg
Artwork by Fatima Zahra #LifeBytes

#LifeBytes 1

Haters are going to hate – ignore the haters.

Haters will hate you no matter who you are. Even if you are a Nobel Laureate.

In 1911, the famous female Nobel Prize winner Marie Curie became a victim of haters – because some people back then could not accept the fact that a woman can become an eminent scientist. Though she was an esteemed Noble Laureate, she was denied a seat in the French Academy of Sciences – possibly because she was a woman. It was none other than the genius Einstein who came along to comfort her at the time. On 23rd November 1911 Einstein wrote to Curie.

“Highly esteemed Mrs Curie, Do not laugh at me for writing to you without having anything sensible to say. But I am so enraged by the base manner in which the public is presently daring to concern itself with you.”  He went on to say, “If the reptile continues to occupy itself with you, then simply don’t read that hogwash, but rather leave it to the reptile for whom it has been fabricated.”

We all face such reptiles. They try to bully you, criticise you and try to outsmart you. One form of such a “reptile” we see today are the trolls who sit on the Internet – hiding behind pseudo names. And as Einstein pointed out, ignoring such “reptiles” is the best solution.

We must, however, learn not ignore any constructive criticism that comes our way. In fact, we must take them on board because they will help us grow. My personal philosophy on this matter is simple. I would ignore anyone who criticises me for the sake of it. However, I would listen to anyone who tells me where I have gone wrong and at the same time tells me how I can correct my mistakes.

#LifeBytes are musings on life, philosophy and attitude.  They are written by Professor Hassan Ugail and the artwork is hand drawn by Artist Fatima Zahra.

 

3 thoughts on “How Einstein deals with negativity – #LifeBytes 1

  1. This gives me a nice reminder of how I should take my critisum. Although I feel as you say it’s not always practiced in such a way. A very interesting read!
    Keep it up!

    Like

  2. I agree with your philosophy my friend. My own thoughts are that I hear ALL criticism – it is only the criticism that matches my negative conditioned or core beliefs that I have of myself that actually ‘hurt’ which can serve as a platform to develop my self esteem if I actually become aware of this. If people are malevolently seeking to depress our state of being we can draw energy and positive will/intent from our internal strength and awareness and importantly from those who support us in our lives by sharing our struggles and fears. It is essential we are there for those around us who need supportive feedback also – from the slightest gesture (as Einstein took it upon himself to offer) to being a trustworthy, consistent pillar if we feel we have the space to be of such service.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The cruel fact is that there are always some people who will think negatively about you, even about what you think and what you do. They can be a group of very narrow-minded people, which you can easily decide not to give a fuck. But then they can also be normal people just like us, what I want to say is, sometimes some of us could be not on the same page with others. This can usually make misunderstandings happen, and develop to haters. It’s hard to ignore others’ judgements, but Maybe we don’t need to think too much, as we couldn’t control and let everybody understand us, right?

    Like

Leave a comment