Interview #1 -Run Sachin, Run

Welcome to our first interview. Your only qualification is that you love health:)

Mr Bee: Morning Sachin, thanks for taking the time out. What does health mean to you?

Sachin: Health is everything. Without it, you won’t be able to function properly, and it can impact different areas of you life.

Mr Bee: What do you eat for breakfast?

Sachin: I eat normal granola which is mixed with raisins.  If I don’t do that, I have two scrambled eggs, 2 pieces of toast and sometimes baked beans

Mr Bee: What gives you an edge when you train?

Sachin: Just being in the right mindset. If you don’t feel good, you will not have a productive training session.  So, it’s important to prepare mentally and physically before proceeding to training.

Mr Bee: Tell a little more about your mental preparation…

Sachin: I listen to music…current studies show that it helps you to get in the “zone”.

Mr Bee: What music works for you?

Sachin: Normally pop music, American rap…a bit of R & B.

Mr Bee: Where do you stand on sugar, gluten and dairy in your diet?

Sachin: I think for me, I don’t pay attention to how much I intake, but I make sure I have milk everyday.  I have at least 1 glass a day or have it in a protein shake. Milk I stick to, even cheese, I have a lot of cheddar.

Mr Bee: What is your training regime?

Sachin: My aim is to train every day and have one rest day.  On Monday, Wednesday and Friday I do casual runs with my university athletics running club, these are mostly to improve stamina and endurance.  I do HIIT (High intensity interval training) – this training is carried out on Tuesday and Thursday.  All my training is in the evening, apart from swimming which I  do around 9am.  In total, I swim around 1700m and I try and swim 3 times a week.  For cycling, I want to increase my average speed on the bike. I am trying to gain as many miles as possible, so I go with my university cycling team.  We normally complete a 60km ride, that would be a Wednesday, and then the weekend.

Mr Bee: Some serious training Sachin ! Any time for sleep?

Sachin: Good sleep is one of the most important things for me.  It is hard to balance it as a university student.  On average I aim for 8 hours sleep…reason being it gives my body time to repair muscle tears and helps my body to grow.

Mr Bee: Sum up health in one sentence ?

Sachin: Health is the most important factor in life. Period.

Mr Bee: Thank you for sharing your thoughts on training and health Sachin. It has been a pleasure.  Good luck for for your 10K race in Leeds next weekend.  We look forward to guest posts from you!

Follow Sachin on Instagram

Add him on Snapchat: Mistryboii

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Interview #1 -Run Sachin, Run

Leave a Reply

